Reviews

“Quirky decor and good food”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ February 7, 2017

Not what you would think of as an Ironbridge Gorge pub but we liked it! Quirky decor but well done and it works. Pleasant, attentive staff and good bar drinks. We had a great meal in the restaurant, with some lovely food. Then went next door into the bar and had an entertaining night with a live band. A good place to spend an evening.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Lunch time visit”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2017

Visited on boxing day with family & 1 year old. Staff very helpful with accommodating baby & group of 6 adults. Reasonable selection of real ales & extensive menu. All chose from lite lunch/sandwich menu. All choices good value and well presented. Overall would highly recommend.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Friendly pub with great food”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2017

We stopped here for lunch after a good country walk. The staff were friendly and helpful. Despite looking busy, there were some large tables at the back which were great for our group. Although there wasn’t a gluten free menu, there were several gluten free options . All our food was great and everyone enjoyed their meals.
Am looking forward to coming back and would recommend.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Good people and value”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2017

Stayed one night at the last minute.

Fantastic staff and decent rooms. Very very good value for money for the rooms.

Would certainly come back.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Great pub! Live music and plenty of space”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2017

Come here every time we visit ironbridge- it’s a great spot, plenty of choice at the bar and always some live .

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Fab Christmas Meal”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ December 18, 2016

Went on a Friday evening with 36 of my work friends for a Christmas meal £15 for 3 course + prosecco. It was an incredible night. Service was spot on and the food was delicious. Good size portions. And the choice we had was amazing. I chose garlic mushrooms, mushroom stroganoff and cheesecake. Wasn’t expecting it to be that good..

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Good rooms and good food”

★ ★ ★ ★ October 10, 2016

Stayed for work, rooms were big and we’ll equipped. Wifi was good which was a god send as phone signal is hit and miss. Food was good and staff very friendly. Good beer on tap too which is nice to see.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Fab food, fab alcohol… What more do you want in a pub?”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ October 7, 2016

Upon walking into the Malthouse, we were immediately greeted by a happy waitress who was more than happy to seat us. We then ordered a few glasses of their house white and a beer to which came within a matter of minutes, we also had a portion of chips but who’s counting them right? Highly recommend this pub – best pub in Ironbridge.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Fantastic!!!!”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ September 25, 2016

Spent the night here meeting up half way with family,the food was excellent the rooms cleanest I’ve ever stayed in,bed so comfortable. BUT the best bit was the evening live band they where Brilliant. Will definitely be returning soon.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Funky, relaxed spaces”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ June 7, 2016

I had booked this hotel for myself and my partner for our anniversary and was not disappointed with the hotel one bit! In the few days before we were due to arrive the manager had called to confirm the room type etc, when we arrived we were blown away by the service we received and the decor! Absolutely stunning! Unlike any other hotel I have stayed in! Will definitely be returning!

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Stunning food in a great location”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ April 16, 2016

Superb dining experience with friendly staff, the experience we received from a nearby public house, was superseded when greeted by friendly staff, who were fantastic all round, must go back and try the b&b facilities.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Very efficient service, well presented fresh food and reasonable prices”

★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2016

Needed a light lunch whilst visiting some of the museums in the area. The Malthouse seemed to fit the bill and we were not disappointed. There was only one waiter on but she was very efficient and delivered food and beverages in a reasonable time. The food was fresh and well presented. We thought the prices good value in a town known for its tourism.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“5 star”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 1, 2016

Me and my partner and 5 week old baby had a trip out to iron bridge to visit a friend and go for dinner, he recommended going to the malt house as its friendly, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices. We wasn’t disappointed we had a drink at the bar before we got our table, food was quick and to a high standard. It wasn’t over crowded yet busy. Happy bubbly atmosphere and lovely decor. Will definitely visit again. Friend informed us they have a back room with entertainment/disco/live band on a weekend evening, which we would like to try that at some point.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“A great evening”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ December 13, 2015

What a great evening spent with friends at The Malthouse. Works annual Christmas Do! Helpful, friendly staff and the Manager went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Food was great, hot, tasty and well presented. Ended our night dancing to a live band playing 70s and 80s music. We will recommend

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Quirky but nice”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ July 14, 2015

6 of us ate the sunday lunch.great quality, hot, tasty and excelent value . 4 Beef and 2 Turkey, if any thing we had too much and felt wasteful on leaving some. Drinks also very reasonable

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Will definitely visit again”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ July 9, 2015

Had a midweek evening meal for my wedding anniversary, this is the second time me and my husband have eaten here and both times the meals have been very good. I had crab and prawn warm chilli pasta which was to die for, my husband had the cordon blue steak stuffed with ham and cheese. Staff were polite and very efficient .Drinks are a bit pricey but expected for the area. The decor is different but is good and works well . Will definitely visit again

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Birthday Weekend”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ June 14, 2015

Stopped by to have a drink and hopefully get a table as we didn’t book! We were told if happy to chill in bar area then one would appear shortly and we happily did. Staff friendly, good was gorgeous and cooked to perfection. Thank you giving me a lovely birthday night out

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Great food in a great location”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ May 26, 2015

A group of us who were new to the area wanted somewhere to go for a nice meal after performing at a nearby outdoor event all day. We happened across The Malthouse by chance and gave it a try because it looked welcoming from the road. We weren’t disappointed. The décor was interesting, the service was attentive and the food was excellent. The menu has a good range of tasty choices at reasonable prices. We would definitely visit The Malthouse again when in the area

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Great place for lunch and a very honest happy ending”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ May 7, 2015

So, I would have given the Malthouse a 4/5 anyway based upon the excellent food and service. But my stupidity has moved my rating to a 5/5. Having visited Blists Hill and looking for a place for lunch we park up and stroll up to the Malthouse. I must say I was a little put off the red and black decor but please don’t let this affect your judgment if you too don’t find it too pleasing to the eye. But hubby was starving and the menu looked fine. I must say the Burger was outstanding (obviously home made), fat chips were perfect and the fish and chips could have fed a family of 4! Service friendly and efficient. But the final star came when I got home and couldn’t find my purse. The only thing I could think was that I had left it there and sure enough when I called a very friendly guy told me that had noticed that I had left it soon after we had left and came out looking for me. I went back the following day to collect, all intact and I couldn’t thank them enough so I left a little thank you payment. Most places you would never have seen the purse again but as they were so efficient in cleaning tables they had obviously spotted it. Thanks Malthouse, we shall be back both for delicious food and honest service.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Great Stay”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ March 7, 2015

This hotel is very well positioned – in the centre of the sights of Ironbridge.

We got a very friendly welcome. The room was comfortable and the decor made me smile. As advertised, quirky, but clean and good. We stayed in the Garden suite, which was well worth the small extra charge. The food in the restaurant was good.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Popped in on off chance”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ February 7, 2015

Visited the Iron Bridge on way home from elsewhere and decided to eat out. Looked in my trusty good pub guide and Lo and behold we were literally parked outside this establishment which was listed. Common sense prevailed and in we went. The 3 children with us were made very welcome which always a great start. A couple of well earned pints of Doom Bar started the evening off well. An extensive children’s menu with plenty of choice gave me the impression this was going to go well. It did not disappoint in any way at all. Childrens’ meals were fabulous and gratefully received. The adult meals were also very good and obviously home made. Reasonably priced too ensured everyone was well,watered and happy. A result and a firm promise to return one day when next in the area. Give it a whirl you won’t be disappointed.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Stayed for one cold February night in the Gold Suite”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ February 7, 2015

The room was warm, décor and fittings very good. Plenty of space and in addition to the shower room there was a bath in the alcove off the bedroom. The room offered excellent views over the river and despite being alongside the road it was quiet. Staff were very attentative and helpful. Very good value.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Large Helpings”

★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2015

Very good food and plenty of it, good value too. A great place to sit out side with a bottle of wine to people watch

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Always Been Good”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ January 7, 2015

Eaten here many many times, food has always been good, never had any complaints. Drinks are a tad expensive but then this is Ironbridge. Always know there is going to be plenty of choice on the menu, and the desserts are great.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ November 18, 2014

Had a family meal here and the service was brilliant the high quality food was reasonably priced, overall a great evening would recommend 10/10.

Source: Tripadvisor logo

For more opinions and real reviews please visit Laterooms.co.uk.